More News >


Republican Leadership Council chooses 26 candidates from across the state

September 9, 2008 - Republican Leadership Council (RLC), has announced its endorsement of several Maine legislative candidates.

The RLC is a national organization founded by former New Jersey Governor Christine Whitman and U.S. Senator John Danforth. Its mission is to return to the fundamentals of the Republican Party and to advocate for the historic Republican principals of liberty, individual responsibility and personal freedom. The RLC’s vision is a party unified by the basic tenets of fiscal responsibility and personal freedom but one which allows diverse opinions on social issues.

The RLC endorsed Maine legislative candidates are:

Senate Candidates
Nicholas McGee (Senate District #9), David Hastings (Senate District #13), Glen Holmes (Senate District #14 ), Christopher Rector (Senate District #- 22), Peter Mills (Senate District # 26), Tom Sawyer (District Senate District #32).

House Candidates
Jeffrey Gifford (House District # 12), Doug Damon (House District # 16).   Peter Johnson (House District #27), Stacey Fitts (House District #29), , Richard Malaby (House District #34), Richard Savage (House District #35), Bob Walker (House District # 44), Jayne Crosby Giles (House District # 43), Leslie Fossel (House District #53), Kenneth Fletcher (House District  #54), Hamilton Meserve (House District #61), L. Gary Knight (House District #81), Patrick Flood (House District # 82), Miles Ranger (House District # 84), Joseph Robinson (House District # 94), Brian Bicknell (House District # 107), Meredith Strang Burgess (House District #108), Jeff Martin (House District #113), Artemas Pickard (House District # 128) and Wayne Parry (House District # 140).

The Republican Leadership Council (RLC) has a Maine state chapter which was founded earlier this year. The Maine Republican Leadership Council is committed to building a strong Maine Republican Party at the grassroots level and training and assisting legislative and local candidates. United States Senators Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins, former Governor John McKernan and longtime party leader Mert Henry serve on the MRLC honorary committee.

For more information go to: www.Republican-Leadership.com


2 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

155 Tuttle Road
Cumberland, ME 04021